Pages

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

How to re-create the Show desktop icon on the Quick Launch toolbar

To re-create the Show desktop icon yourself, follow these steps:

  1. Click Start, click Run, type notepad in the Open box, and then click OK.
  2. Carefully copy and then paste the following text into the Notepad window:

    [Shell]
    Command=2
    IconFile=explorer.exe,3
    [Taskbar]
    Command=ToggleDesktop

  3. On the File menu, click Save As, and then save the file to your desktop as "Show desktop.scf". The Show desktop icon is created on your desktop.
  4. Click and then drag the Show desktop icon to your Quick Launch toolbar.

The Quick Launch toolbar uses the files in the following folder:

%userprofile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch

Alternative method:

  1. Click Start, Run and type the following command:
  2. regsvr32 /n /i:U shell32.dll

The Show Desktop icon file should be available now

More can be read here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/190355

Friday, December 19, 2008

Remove Adobe AIR When Not In Add/Remove Programs

I ran File Hippo's Update Checker and it listed Adobe AIR even though Adobe AIR was not listed in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel.  I found the following suggestion:

Download the latest Adobe AIR installer and save it to your C: drive.
Go to Start->Run and type CMD
Type cd.. and press Enter.  Repeat until you are at c:\>
Type the following: AdobeAIRInstaller.exe –uninstall

Your screen should then display C:\>Uninstalling Adobe AIR (all versions)

I guess the other workaround is to install Adobe AIR completely and it in theory will then be listed in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel.

I’ve also found that you may delete the Adobe AIR folder located at:

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe AIR

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Calibri Font Not In Office 2003

Users who have Office 2003 and reply to an Office 2007, the email will change the original email's font from Calibri font to Heavy Heap. This is because the default font in Office 2007 is Calibri which is not available in Office 2003.

To get the font for Office 2003 users, install the Office Compatibility Pack which will install the Calibri font.

Download link
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=9A1822C5-49C6-47BD-8BEC-0D68693CA564&displaylang=en

Monday, December 01, 2008

AV exclusion for MS Exchange

It is recommended to exclude the following folders from anti-virus scanning

M:\ (for MS Exchange 2000 only)
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\Mailroot
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\CONNDATA
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\MDBDATA
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\MTADATA
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\SCHEMA
C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\Mailbox (MS Exchange 2007)


Taken from and further readings:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/245822/en-us
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/823166
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/328841
http://www.jacksontechnical.com/article.htm?id=16
http://www.avg.com/faq.num-1082#faq_1082
http://www.tech-archive.net/Archive/Windows/microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs/2007-12/msg01508.html
www.bitdefender.com/files/KnowledgeBase/file/BitDefender_Security_for_File_Servers_-_How_to_configure.pdf

Increase Exchange 2003 Storage Limits With ADSI

Exchange 2003 has a storage limites of 2GB or 2097151 KB by default. To get around this use Active Directory Services Interface (ADSI Edit) tool. ADSI Edit (adsidedit) is one of Windows Server 2003's support tools. Install the whole support tools package from the Server CD: \support\tools\supptools.msi. Once the two programs files adsiedit.dll and adsiedit.msc are installed, you also get a shortcut on the Start, Programs menu or you can use adsiedit.msc from the Run line.

Note if you copy adsiedit.dll manually then you need to paste into the 'path' for example C: \windows\adsiedit.dll. Then you need to register the dll with:
regsvr32 adsiedit. (If you install from supptools.msi there is no need for this extra step).

The following table displays the equivalent Active Directory attributes for the storage limit properties that are available in the Active Directory Users and Computers snap-in interface or in the Exchange System Manager interface.













Storage limit properties available in the GUIEquivalent attributes
Issue warning at (KB)mDBStorageQuota
Prohibit send at (KB)mDBOverQuotaLimit
Prohibit send and receive at (KB)td> mDBOverHardQuotaLimit


Modify the storage limits for a user's mailbox

To use the ADSI Edit tool to modify the storage limit values for a user's mailbox, follow these steps.

Note The following steps modify the limits for a user who is named User1.
  1. On a server that has the Windows Support Tools installed, open a command prompt.
  2. Move to the Drive_Letter:\Program Files\Support Tools folder.
  3. Type adsiedit.msc, and then press ENTER.
  4. On the Action menu, click Connect to.
  5. In the Connection Settings dialog box, type the name that you want to use for this connection in the Name box.
  6. In the Connection Point area, click Select a well known Naming Context, and then click Domain in the list.
  7. In the Computer area, click Select or type a domain or Server, and then type the FQDN of the server in the box. Alternatively, you can click Default (Domain or Server that you logged in to), if applicable.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Locate the CN=User1 object in the following path:
    Domain [Server_Name.Domain_Name]\DC=Domain_Name,DC=Root_Domain\CN=Users\
  10. Right-click CN=User1, and then click Properties.
  11. Click to select the Show optional attributes check box.
  12. In the Attributes list, double-click mDBOverHardQuotaLimit.
  13. In the Value box, type the value of the limit in kilobytes that you want to set, and then click OK. For example, to set a limit of 3 GB, type 3145728, and then click OK.
  14. Repeat steps 12 and 13 for any other attributes that are listed in the table in the "Active Directory attributes" section.
  15. Click OK to close the properties sheet for the User1 object.
  16. On the File menu, click Exit.

Modify the storage limits for a mailbox store
  1. On a server that has the Windows Support Tools installed, open a command prompt.
  2. Move to the Drive_Letter:\Program Files\Support Tools folder.
  3. Type adsiedit.msc, and then press ENTER.
  4. On the Action menu, click Connect to.
  5. In the Connection Settings dialog box, type any name that you want to use for this connection in the Name box.
  6. In the Connection Point area, click Select a well known Naming Context, and then click Domain in the list.
  7. In the Computer area, click Select or type a domain or Server, and then type the FQDN of the server in the box. Alternatively, you can click Default (Domain or Server that you logged in to), if applicable.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click the CN=First Storage Group object in the following path:
    Configuration [Server_Name.Domain_Name]\DC=Configuration,Domain_Name,DC=Root_Domain\CN=Services\CN=Microsoft Exchange\CN=First Organization\CN=Administrative Groups\CN=First Administrative Group\CN=Servers\CN=Server_Name\CN=Information Store\
  10. Right-click CN=Mailbox Store (Server_Name), and then click Properties.
  11. Click to select the Show optional attributes check box.
  12. In the Attributes list, double-click mDBOverHardQuotaLimit.
  13. In the Value box, type the value of the limit in kilobytes that you want to set, and then click OK. For example, to set a limit of 3 GB, type 3145728, and then click OK.
  14. Repeat steps 12 and 13 for any of the other attributes that are listed in the table in the "Active Directory attributes" section.
  15. Click OK to close the properties sheet for the "Mailbox Store (Server_Name)" object.
  16. On the File menu, click Exit.



Taken from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/930366 and http://www.computerperformance.co.uk/w2k3/utilities/adsi_edit.htm

Friday, September 26, 2008

How to remove Windows Messenger 4.7 permanently

How to remove Windows Messenger 4.7 permanently

First Step:
Navigate to Control Panel.
select Add or Remove Programs.
select Add/Remove Windows Components.
uncheck Windows Messenger.

Second Step
Click on Start.
Click on Run.
Copy and paste this line into the box: RunDll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection %windir%\INF\msmsgs.inf,BLC.Remove

Friday, June 20, 2008

Quick Launch Icons

Here is a quick fix for if ever your Quick Launch Icons change to some other icon.

Right click on your desktop background.
Select Properties.
Select Settings tab.
Change the color quality to something else.
Click Apply.
Click No.

Your icons should be back to normal.

More can be read here:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q132668/

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

"could not initialize the browser's security component" in Firefox

If you get the error "could not initialize the browser's security component" in Firefox, try these steps in order.

Note to get to your profile folder….
C:\Documents and Settings\user name\Application Data folder in Windows 2000 and XP or the C:\Users\user name\AppData\Roaming folder in Windows Vista

Hard drive capacity
Check your hard drive's remaining capacity. To do this on Windows machines:
1. Open My Computer
2. Right click on the C: drive
3. Choose Properties. A dialog will come up.
4. Go to the General tab
If it reports less than 1MB free space, you'll need to make more room.

File permissions
Check the file permissions in your profile folder. The file named cert8.db must not be read-only. To do this on Windows machines:
1. Open your profile folder in Windows Explorer.
2. Right click on the file named cert8.db.
3. Choose Properties. A dialog will come up.
4. Go to the General tab
5. Make sure the "Read-only" checkbox is not checked.
6. Press OK.

Corrupted file
The file cert8.db in your profile folder may have become corrupted. Delete this file while the application (Firefox, SeaMonkey, etc) is closed. To do this on Windows machines:
1. Close the application by choosing File -> Exit.
2. Open your profile folder in Windows Explorer.
3. Click on the file named cert8.db.
4. Press delete.
5. Restart the application. cert8.db will be recreated when you do so.

New profile
Create a new profile. Your current profile might be corrupted due to many reasons, such as changes in your system or lack of hard drive space at one point.



More can be read at:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Could_not_initialize_the_browser_security_component
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder

If you get an error message in Outlook that reads "Could not install the custom actions.”

If you get an error message in Outlook that reads "Could not install the custom actions.” here is the fix:

1. Close Microsoft Outlook.
2. Make sure hidden files and folders are shown. This can be done in "Folder Options" within the "Control Panel" on the "View" tab.
3. Navigate to the following location:

Windows XP
C:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Forms\

Windows Vista
C:\Users\[User Name]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Form\

4. In there, there is a file called "FRMCACHE.dat". Delete this file.
5. Relaunch Microsoft Outlook.

More can be read about the fix at:
http://www.spencerkam.com/blog/2007/11/could-not-install-custom-actions.html

Thursday, June 05, 2008

Not Being Able to Log Into Windows Live Messenger Fix

I had a problem with my work computer not being able to log into Windows Live Messenger.

I was able to login in the past on the computer but all of a sudden no longer. I tried uninstalling the program and installing the latest version but that didn't help. I research the internet for solutions but none worked until this simple fix...
Re-register the wups2.dll by going to the run line and typing the following and then clicking OK:
regsvr32 wups2.dll

Appearently the issue is releated to XP sp3.

Reference:
http://msn-errors.blogspot.com/2007/06/cant-install-windows-live-messenger.html

Thursday, May 29, 2008

Office 2007 opens slowly fixes

Some people have observed Office 2007 products taking longer than normal to open. Specifically Excel, PowerPoint and Word. The other issue is that attachments in Outlook 2007 can take a long time to open. Below are several things you can do to improve opening times.

Add-ins can make Office 2007 open very slowly.

Adobe Acrobat PDFMaker - The first thing to check for is Adobe Acrobat add-in PDFMaker. You can do a search on the c drive for “pdfmaker.dot, pdfmaker.xla, pdfmaker.ppa”. Search instructions based on what version of Windows you are running:

Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, and Microsoft Windows 2000:
1. Click Start, and then click Search.
2. Click All files and folders.
3. In the All or part of the file name box type: pdfmaker.dot, pdfmaker.xla, pdfmaker.ppa
4. Press ENTER.
5. Right-click the file, and then click Delete.

Windows Vista
1. Click Start , type pdfmaker.dot (for Microsoft Office Word), pdfmaker.xla (for Microsoft Office Excel), or pdfmaker.ppa (for
Microsoft Office PowerPoint), and then press ENTER.
2. Right-click the file, and then click Delete.

Outlook 2007 Add-Ins - Uninstall any unnecessary 3rd party ad-ins.

1. Open Outlook and go to Tools->Trust Center
2. Navigate to Add-Ins in the left column
3. Select COM Add-ins in the Manage drop down and click Go
4. Uncheck any unnecessary add-in like Norton or Symantec product and Click OK

Modify the Way Windows Opens and Shares Data

1. Launch Windows Explorer (explorer.exe) by double clicking My Computer.
2. Navigate to Tools->Folder options.
3. Click File Types tab
4. Select list item XLS (Microsoft Office Excel 97-2003 Worksheet) and click on Advanced. (hint, you can quickly type xls))
5. Select Open and click Edit
6. In the “Application used to perform action” box, scroll to the end. Add a space and then “%1” . Make sure to include the double quotes.
Example for Excel would be "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\EXCEL.EXE" /e "%1"
7. Uncheck Use DDE.
8. Click OK
9. Repeat steps for Read Only and then repeat steps 4 – 8 for the following file types:
xlsx
doc
docx
ppt
pptx

Or put the following in a text file and save as .bat. Double click the .bat file for it to automatically populate the registry for you.
# doc
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Word.Document.8\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\WINWORD.EXE\" \"%1\""
# docx
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Word.Document.12\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\WINWORD.EXE\" \"%1\""
#xls
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Excel.Sheet.8\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\EXCEL.EXE\" /e \"%1\""
# xlsx
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Excel.Sheet.12\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\EXCEL.EXE\" /e \"%1\""
#ppt
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\PowerPoint.Addin.8\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\POWERPNT.EXE\" \"%1\""
#pptx
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\PowerPoint.Addin.12\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\POWERPNT.EXE\" \"%1\""

The next time you open Office 2007 it should be faster. If not, unregister the products and reregister them. To do this Navigate to Start->Run and type each line in separately. Note that each time done it will open the product.
Excel /unregserver
Winword /unregserver
POWERPNT /unregserver
Excel /regserver
Winword /regserver
POWERPNT /regserver

Last but least, install Microsoft add-in, Lookup Wizard, to Excel 2007.

More can be read at
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/302596
http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=328399&sliceId=2
http://www.m3rlin.org/wordpress/slow-opening-excel-2003-files-in-excel-2007/
http://help.lockergnome.com/office/Excel-extremely-slow-opening-ftopict950153.html

http://excel2007-slow-open-file.blogspot.com/

Monday, January 14, 2008

Make new tab home page instead of blank in IE 7

By default everytime you open a new tab in Internet Explorer 7 the url displayed is about: blank. You can modify a setting to make a new tab open as your home page instead of blank.

In IE 7 navigate to Tools->Internet Options
In the Tab section , click Settings button
Check "Open Home page for new tabs instead of a blank page"
Click OK
Close IE

Open IE
Click New Tab (small tab next to current tab)
At the bottom of the page check the box that says "Don't show this page again"
Click Save
Close IE

Now everytime you open a new tab it will be your home page

Thursday, October 18, 2007

WSUS not syncing correctly in SonicWall environment

I have a client whose Windows Server Update Services (WSUS) was not syncing correctly and therefor computers were not getting updated. The event viewer logs on the server had the following entry:

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Windows Server Update Services
Event Category: Synchronization
Event ID: 364
Description:Content file download failed.
Reason: The server does not support the necessary HTTP protocol. Background Intelligent Transfer Service (BITS) requires that the server support the Range protocol header. Source File: /msdownload/update/v3-19990518/cabpool/photolibrary_0da3b50e5b2cdad0a44d21f10d825d8be8d5be3b.cab Destination File: F:\WSUS\WsusContent\3B\0DA3B50E5B2CDAD0A44D21F10D825D8BE8D5BE3B.cab.

Microsoft KB 922330 resolution method 2 was to "Enable HTTP Byte-Range request with Gateway AV" on the SonicWall firewall.

To get to the Sonicwall setting log onto your firewall. After you have logged on, change the URL from /main.html to /diag.html. Click Internal Settings button. Check "Enable HTTP Byte-Range requests with Gateway AV". Click Apply button. Click Close button. Restart is not required.

Test WSUS by manually syncing. Sync should begin.

Thanks to this site for the info http://parkesy.wordpress.com/category/sonicwall/

Thursday, October 11, 2007

Excel 2007 Can't Save As 2003 Issue With Specific File

I have one Excel file that is in 2003 format and needs to be saved in 2003 format. The problem I was having was when I saved the file as 2003 using Excel 2007, excel would always crash. This was happening on multiple computers with the file being stored locally. A side note was that if the file is saved as 2007, compatibility pack would also crash.

A fix that i found was to remove Windows Update KB908531. To do this go to Add/Remove Programs and check Show Updates. Scroll down until you fined KB908531 and delete it. Restart your computer.

iPhone demo

I am demoing an iPhone and wanted to share the pros and cons I have experienced. My suggestion is to hold off on getting an iPhone. The iPhone is a consumer phone and business user should avoid it. Within six months there will be plenty of phones that can do just as much as the iPhone like the AT&T Tilt, LG Voyager, or Blackberry 9xxx. Some are out now.

PROS

Aesthetically pleasing
Built apps like YouTube and Google Maps
Built in iTunes can use Wi-Fi
Some screens rotate when phone is rotated from portrait to landscape
8 GB HD.

CONS

Requires iTunes
Uses AT&T Edge network which is extremely slow
Only wireless synchs mail. Does not wirelessly synch calendar or contacts
Mail is synched every 15 minutes and not real time.
Does not have the ability to view MMS pictures.
Keys are very close on touch keyboard
No direct link to Exchange other than with MAPI – most IT departments will not turn this on for security reasons. Workaround is to use 3rd party solution like http://www.synchronica.com/
No OMA ability.
No remote administration options for IT. IT departments need a way to wipe phones and to deploy group policies like passwords.
Cannot install other applications or games.
Safari browser only. No IE, Firefox, or Opera.
Non standard headset jack.
No ability to copy and paste.
No instant messenger. But with a funky keyboard IM would be difficult.
Mail should rotate to landscape mode and allow a wider touch keyboard.
Next generation should have a slider keyboard like the AT&T Tilt has.
No video recording capability.
Short battery life.
Phone gets warm.
Phone is a tad heavy.
8 GB HD.

Thursday, September 13, 2007

Disable Vista User Account Control

Windows Vista has a new feature called User Account Control (UAC) that can get bothersome if you are not used to it.

You can disable UAC by going to Security Center in the control panel and unselect the "Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer".

If you don't have the option to unselect then you will need to open msconfig disable UAC there.
To do this navigate to Start->Run and type MSCONFIG. Click on the Tools tab. Scroll down till you find "Disable UAP". You may need to restart your computer.

More info can be found at http://www.petri.co.il/disable_uac_in_windows_vista.htm

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Open in Regedit in Internet Explorer

I stumbled upon a simple but handy tool the other day. The progam is called "Open in Regedit in IE " and I found it on Petri.co.il (great website for computer info and how-to).

The tool is an Internet Explorer add-in that will directly take you to the registry path when listed on a webpage. This comes in very handy when you are reading instructions on how to modify the registry. Instead of having to go to Start->Run->regedit and navigating to the path you simply highlight the path on the website, right-click and select Open in Regedit.

Here is a little tip. The program will only work in Internet Explorer. What about if the instructions that tell you the registry path is from a non-website source like an email or PDF. Copy the path and paste it in any textbox in Internet Explorer like Google search box and right-click. You now have the option to Open in Regedit.

This program is a time saver and error saver.

You can download the program here. A quick search found something similar for Firefox.

Thursday, March 15, 2007

How to watch NCAA March Madness blackout games on internet

CBS is streaming their broadcast of the NCAA tournament for free. Just create an account and log in to view the game live.

One problem is that some of the games are blackedout because it is being offered on local TV. I started investigating how the website is able to know that the game is local for me. When I created my account the site ask you what zip code you live in. I created a second account with a Wyoming zip code which is not local to anything....I was still blocked from viewing games.

Then it dawned on me that the website is reading my IP address and to determine if the game is being shown on local TV or not. The solution to that is to use a service/program that hides your real IP address and uses one that is located somewhere else in the world.

I decided to use a trial version of Anonymizer http://www.anonymizer.com/. Once I installed the program and opened my browser and logged into http://www.ncaasports.com/mmod/ I was able to view my game. According to http://showmyip.com/ my IP address is 128.241.111.50 and I'm now located in San Diego, CA. I would assume this work-around isn't good for San Diago using Anonymizer.

Alternative is to go to a web based site like http://www.shadowbrowser.com or http://www.proxy7.com/

Tuesday, February 27, 2007

Daylight Saving Time (DST) 2007

In case you haven't heard, Daylight Saving Time (DST) starts 3 weeks early and ends 1 week later this year to comply with the Energy Policy Act of 2005.

DST will start March 11 and end November 4 which is 4 weeks longer than previous years. Unless updates are applied to your computer, your OS computer's clock may be incorrect during the 4 weeks. You will also need to update MS Outlook.

If your computer is running Windows follow these steps to determine the version you have:

Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
In Control Panel, double-click System.
Click the General tab. The name of the current version of your Windows software is displayed on this tab.

Follow the steps below based on your version:

Windows XP sp2
If you are running Windows XP sp2 then go Windows Update and choose Express update.
http://update.microsoft.com

Windows XP sp1 or plain Windows XP
You will need to update to sp2. Go to Windows Update and choose Express update. Install sp2 and do another Express update.
http://update.microsoft.com

Windows NT or 2000
IntelliAdmin.com created a patch for you.
NOTE: that this is not a Microsoft patch.
DOUBLE NOTE: This patch will work on all versions of XP and 2003 in case you don't want to install service packs.
http://www.intelliadmin.com/DaylightSavingFix.exe

Windows 98 or ME
IntelliAdmin.com created a patch for you. NOTE that this is not a Microsoft patch.
http://www.intelliadmin.com/DaylightSavingFix98.exe

If you have Windows 95 you will have to manually adjust your clock.
NOTE: Don't you think it is time to upgrade your computer?
DOUBLE NOTE: You really should get a new computer that is from this decade.


Microsoft has this site to help
http://support.microsoft.com/gp/cp_dst

If you have an Apple go to this site and follow instructions to update
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305056

Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Major Bug in Outlook

I believe I have found a major bug in Outlook. I say major because when this issue involves sending emails as BCC. When you send an email as BCC you are sending it because you don’t want the recipient to be able to see who else it was sent to.

If you follow the steps below the recipient is able view the names of all the BCC recipients.

To reproduce the issue

Go to your ContactsRight click contact and select New Message to ContactMove the name from To field to the BCC field.
Click View->OptionsIn the Contacts field is the name of the BCC recipient which was originally the To recipient. The Contacts field should be empty instead.


This information is viewable to the recipient if they print it out or by making the message editable (forward, reply or reply to all) and clicking the message's option button. After clicking the option button the Contacts field will display the names of the BCC recipients. If the recipient prints the email out it will print the usual fields of From, Sent, To, and Subject. The print out will also display a Contacts field which contains all the BCC recipients names.

There are a couple of workarounds:

Clear the Contacts field prior to sending if using the steps above
Create a new email in Outlook by going to File->New Message and populate the BCC field by clicking the BCC button

It appears that Outlook is not correctly clearing the Contacts field after moving the name from To to BCC. This only happens when you right click a contact and select New Message to Contact.

I have researched this issue and have not found any information about it including Microsoft.

Lesson learned, be careful when you send an email BCC because it might not be blank.