Pages

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

How to re-create the Show desktop icon on the Quick Launch toolbar

To re-create the Show desktop icon yourself, follow these steps:

  1. Click Start, click Run, type notepad in the Open box, and then click OK.
  2. Carefully copy and then paste the following text into the Notepad window:

    [Shell]
    Command=2
    IconFile=explorer.exe,3
    [Taskbar]
    Command=ToggleDesktop

  3. On the File menu, click Save As, and then save the file to your desktop as "Show desktop.scf". The Show desktop icon is created on your desktop.
  4. Click and then drag the Show desktop icon to your Quick Launch toolbar.

The Quick Launch toolbar uses the files in the following folder:

%userprofile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch

Alternative method:

  1. Click Start, Run and type the following command:
  2. regsvr32 /n /i:U shell32.dll

The Show Desktop icon file should be available now

More can be read here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/190355

Friday, December 19, 2008

Remove Adobe AIR When Not In Add/Remove Programs

I ran File Hippo's Update Checker and it listed Adobe AIR even though Adobe AIR was not listed in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel.  I found the following suggestion:

Download the latest Adobe AIR installer and save it to your C: drive.
Go to Start->Run and type CMD
Type cd.. and press Enter.  Repeat until you are at c:\>
Type the following: AdobeAIRInstaller.exe –uninstall

Your screen should then display C:\>Uninstalling Adobe AIR (all versions)

I guess the other workaround is to install Adobe AIR completely and it in theory will then be listed in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel.

I’ve also found that you may delete the Adobe AIR folder located at:

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe AIR

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Calibri Font Not In Office 2003

Users who have Office 2003 and reply to an Office 2007, the email will change the original email's font from Calibri font to Heavy Heap. This is because the default font in Office 2007 is Calibri which is not available in Office 2003.

To get the font for Office 2003 users, install the Office Compatibility Pack which will install the Calibri font.

Download link
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=9A1822C5-49C6-47BD-8BEC-0D68693CA564&displaylang=en

Monday, December 01, 2008

AV exclusion for MS Exchange

It is recommended to exclude the following folders from anti-virus scanning

M:\ (for MS Exchange 2000 only)
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\Mailroot
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\CONNDATA
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\MDBDATA
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\MTADATA
C:\Program Files\Exchsrvr\SCHEMA
C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\Mailbox (MS Exchange 2007)


Taken from and further readings:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/245822/en-us
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/823166
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/328841
http://www.jacksontechnical.com/article.htm?id=16
http://www.avg.com/faq.num-1082#faq_1082
http://www.tech-archive.net/Archive/Windows/microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs/2007-12/msg01508.html
www.bitdefender.com/files/KnowledgeBase/file/BitDefender_Security_for_File_Servers_-_How_to_configure.pdf

Increase Exchange 2003 Storage Limits With ADSI

Exchange 2003 has a storage limites of 2GB or 2097151 KB by default. To get around this use Active Directory Services Interface (ADSI Edit) tool. ADSI Edit (adsidedit) is one of Windows Server 2003's support tools. Install the whole support tools package from the Server CD: \support\tools\supptools.msi. Once the two programs files adsiedit.dll and adsiedit.msc are installed, you also get a shortcut on the Start, Programs menu or you can use adsiedit.msc from the Run line.

Note if you copy adsiedit.dll manually then you need to paste into the 'path' for example C: \windows\adsiedit.dll. Then you need to register the dll with:
regsvr32 adsiedit. (If you install from supptools.msi there is no need for this extra step).

The following table displays the equivalent Active Directory attributes for the storage limit properties that are available in the Active Directory Users and Computers snap-in interface or in the Exchange System Manager interface.













Storage limit properties available in the GUIEquivalent attributes
Issue warning at (KB)mDBStorageQuota
Prohibit send at (KB)mDBOverQuotaLimit
Prohibit send and receive at (KB)td> mDBOverHardQuotaLimit


Modify the storage limits for a user's mailbox

To use the ADSI Edit tool to modify the storage limit values for a user's mailbox, follow these steps.

Note The following steps modify the limits for a user who is named User1.
  1. On a server that has the Windows Support Tools installed, open a command prompt.
  2. Move to the Drive_Letter:\Program Files\Support Tools folder.
  3. Type adsiedit.msc, and then press ENTER.
  4. On the Action menu, click Connect to.
  5. In the Connection Settings dialog box, type the name that you want to use for this connection in the Name box.
  6. In the Connection Point area, click Select a well known Naming Context, and then click Domain in the list.
  7. In the Computer area, click Select or type a domain or Server, and then type the FQDN of the server in the box. Alternatively, you can click Default (Domain or Server that you logged in to), if applicable.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Locate the CN=User1 object in the following path:
    Domain [Server_Name.Domain_Name]\DC=Domain_Name,DC=Root_Domain\CN=Users\
  10. Right-click CN=User1, and then click Properties.
  11. Click to select the Show optional attributes check box.
  12. In the Attributes list, double-click mDBOverHardQuotaLimit.
  13. In the Value box, type the value of the limit in kilobytes that you want to set, and then click OK. For example, to set a limit of 3 GB, type 3145728, and then click OK.
  14. Repeat steps 12 and 13 for any other attributes that are listed in the table in the "Active Directory attributes" section.
  15. Click OK to close the properties sheet for the User1 object.
  16. On the File menu, click Exit.

Modify the storage limits for a mailbox store
  1. On a server that has the Windows Support Tools installed, open a command prompt.
  2. Move to the Drive_Letter:\Program Files\Support Tools folder.
  3. Type adsiedit.msc, and then press ENTER.
  4. On the Action menu, click Connect to.
  5. In the Connection Settings dialog box, type any name that you want to use for this connection in the Name box.
  6. In the Connection Point area, click Select a well known Naming Context, and then click Domain in the list.
  7. In the Computer area, click Select or type a domain or Server, and then type the FQDN of the server in the box. Alternatively, you can click Default (Domain or Server that you logged in to), if applicable.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click the CN=First Storage Group object in the following path:
    Configuration [Server_Name.Domain_Name]\DC=Configuration,Domain_Name,DC=Root_Domain\CN=Services\CN=Microsoft Exchange\CN=First Organization\CN=Administrative Groups\CN=First Administrative Group\CN=Servers\CN=Server_Name\CN=Information Store\
  10. Right-click CN=Mailbox Store (Server_Name), and then click Properties.
  11. Click to select the Show optional attributes check box.
  12. In the Attributes list, double-click mDBOverHardQuotaLimit.
  13. In the Value box, type the value of the limit in kilobytes that you want to set, and then click OK. For example, to set a limit of 3 GB, type 3145728, and then click OK.
  14. Repeat steps 12 and 13 for any of the other attributes that are listed in the table in the "Active Directory attributes" section.
  15. Click OK to close the properties sheet for the "Mailbox Store (Server_Name)" object.
  16. On the File menu, click Exit.



Taken from http://support.microsoft.com/kb/930366 and http://www.computerperformance.co.uk/w2k3/utilities/adsi_edit.htm

Friday, September 26, 2008

How to remove Windows Messenger 4.7 permanently

How to remove Windows Messenger 4.7 permanently

First Step:
Navigate to Control Panel.
select Add or Remove Programs.
select Add/Remove Windows Components.
uncheck Windows Messenger.

Second Step
Click on Start.
Click on Run.
Copy and paste this line into the box: RunDll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection %windir%\INF\msmsgs.inf,BLC.Remove

Friday, June 20, 2008

Quick Launch Icons

Here is a quick fix for if ever your Quick Launch Icons change to some other icon.

Right click on your desktop background.
Select Properties.
Select Settings tab.
Change the color quality to something else.
Click Apply.
Click No.

Your icons should be back to normal.

More can be read here:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q132668/

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

"could not initialize the browser's security component" in Firefox

If you get the error "could not initialize the browser's security component" in Firefox, try these steps in order.

Note to get to your profile folder….
C:\Documents and Settings\user name\Application Data folder in Windows 2000 and XP or the C:\Users\user name\AppData\Roaming folder in Windows Vista

Hard drive capacity
Check your hard drive's remaining capacity. To do this on Windows machines:
1. Open My Computer
2. Right click on the C: drive
3. Choose Properties. A dialog will come up.
4. Go to the General tab
If it reports less than 1MB free space, you'll need to make more room.

File permissions
Check the file permissions in your profile folder. The file named cert8.db must not be read-only. To do this on Windows machines:
1. Open your profile folder in Windows Explorer.
2. Right click on the file named cert8.db.
3. Choose Properties. A dialog will come up.
4. Go to the General tab
5. Make sure the "Read-only" checkbox is not checked.
6. Press OK.

Corrupted file
The file cert8.db in your profile folder may have become corrupted. Delete this file while the application (Firefox, SeaMonkey, etc) is closed. To do this on Windows machines:
1. Close the application by choosing File -> Exit.
2. Open your profile folder in Windows Explorer.
3. Click on the file named cert8.db.
4. Press delete.
5. Restart the application. cert8.db will be recreated when you do so.

New profile
Create a new profile. Your current profile might be corrupted due to many reasons, such as changes in your system or lack of hard drive space at one point.



More can be read at:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Could_not_initialize_the_browser_security_component
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder

If you get an error message in Outlook that reads "Could not install the custom actions.”

If you get an error message in Outlook that reads "Could not install the custom actions.” here is the fix:

1. Close Microsoft Outlook.
2. Make sure hidden files and folders are shown. This can be done in "Folder Options" within the "Control Panel" on the "View" tab.
3. Navigate to the following location:

Windows XP
C:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Forms\

Windows Vista
C:\Users\[User Name]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Form\

4. In there, there is a file called "FRMCACHE.dat". Delete this file.
5. Relaunch Microsoft Outlook.

More can be read about the fix at:
http://www.spencerkam.com/blog/2007/11/could-not-install-custom-actions.html

Thursday, June 05, 2008

Not Being Able to Log Into Windows Live Messenger Fix

I had a problem with my work computer not being able to log into Windows Live Messenger.

I was able to login in the past on the computer but all of a sudden no longer. I tried uninstalling the program and installing the latest version but that didn't help. I research the internet for solutions but none worked until this simple fix...
Re-register the wups2.dll by going to the run line and typing the following and then clicking OK:
regsvr32 wups2.dll

Appearently the issue is releated to XP sp3.

Reference:
http://msn-errors.blogspot.com/2007/06/cant-install-windows-live-messenger.html

Thursday, May 29, 2008

Office 2007 opens slowly fixes

Some people have observed Office 2007 products taking longer than normal to open. Specifically Excel, PowerPoint and Word. The other issue is that attachments in Outlook 2007 can take a long time to open. Below are several things you can do to improve opening times.

Add-ins can make Office 2007 open very slowly.

Adobe Acrobat PDFMaker - The first thing to check for is Adobe Acrobat add-in PDFMaker. You can do a search on the c drive for “pdfmaker.dot, pdfmaker.xla, pdfmaker.ppa”. Search instructions based on what version of Windows you are running:

Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, and Microsoft Windows 2000:
1. Click Start, and then click Search.
2. Click All files and folders.
3. In the All or part of the file name box type: pdfmaker.dot, pdfmaker.xla, pdfmaker.ppa
4. Press ENTER.
5. Right-click the file, and then click Delete.

Windows Vista
1. Click Start , type pdfmaker.dot (for Microsoft Office Word), pdfmaker.xla (for Microsoft Office Excel), or pdfmaker.ppa (for
Microsoft Office PowerPoint), and then press ENTER.
2. Right-click the file, and then click Delete.

Outlook 2007 Add-Ins - Uninstall any unnecessary 3rd party ad-ins.

1. Open Outlook and go to Tools->Trust Center
2. Navigate to Add-Ins in the left column
3. Select COM Add-ins in the Manage drop down and click Go
4. Uncheck any unnecessary add-in like Norton or Symantec product and Click OK

Modify the Way Windows Opens and Shares Data

1. Launch Windows Explorer (explorer.exe) by double clicking My Computer.
2. Navigate to Tools->Folder options.
3. Click File Types tab
4. Select list item XLS (Microsoft Office Excel 97-2003 Worksheet) and click on Advanced. (hint, you can quickly type xls))
5. Select Open and click Edit
6. In the “Application used to perform action” box, scroll to the end. Add a space and then “%1” . Make sure to include the double quotes.
Example for Excel would be "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\EXCEL.EXE" /e "%1"
7. Uncheck Use DDE.
8. Click OK
9. Repeat steps for Read Only and then repeat steps 4 – 8 for the following file types:
xlsx
doc
docx
ppt
pptx

Or put the following in a text file and save as .bat. Double click the .bat file for it to automatically populate the registry for you.
# doc
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Word.Document.8\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\WINWORD.EXE\" \"%1\""
# docx
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Word.Document.12\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\WINWORD.EXE\" \"%1\""
#xls
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Excel.Sheet.8\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\EXCEL.EXE\" /e \"%1\""
# xlsx
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Excel.Sheet.12\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\EXCEL.EXE\" /e \"%1\""
#ppt
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\PowerPoint.Addin.8\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\POWERPNT.EXE\" \"%1\""
#pptx
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\PowerPoint.Addin.12\shell\Open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\POWERPNT.EXE\" \"%1\""

The next time you open Office 2007 it should be faster. If not, unregister the products and reregister them. To do this Navigate to Start->Run and type each line in separately. Note that each time done it will open the product.
Excel /unregserver
Winword /unregserver
POWERPNT /unregserver
Excel /regserver
Winword /regserver
POWERPNT /regserver

Last but least, install Microsoft add-in, Lookup Wizard, to Excel 2007.

More can be read at
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/302596
http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=328399&sliceId=2
http://www.m3rlin.org/wordpress/slow-opening-excel-2003-files-in-excel-2007/
http://help.lockergnome.com/office/Excel-extremely-slow-opening-ftopict950153.html

http://excel2007-slow-open-file.blogspot.com/

Monday, January 14, 2008

Make new tab home page instead of blank in IE 7

By default everytime you open a new tab in Internet Explorer 7 the url displayed is about: blank. You can modify a setting to make a new tab open as your home page instead of blank.

In IE 7 navigate to Tools->Internet Options
In the Tab section , click Settings button
Check "Open Home page for new tabs instead of a blank page"
Click OK
Close IE

Open IE
Click New Tab (small tab next to current tab)
At the bottom of the page check the box that says "Don't show this page again"
Click Save
Close IE

Now everytime you open a new tab it will be your home page