Pages

Thursday, September 10, 2009

How To Clear Connections On A Sonicwall Without Restarting

 

Log onto your sonicwall.  Once logged on, change the URL from http://x.x.x.x/main.html to http://x.x.x.x/diag.html

Click Internal Settings button.

Scroll to bottom and click Flush Connections button.

This happened to me after a client's Sonicwall reached the maximum number of connections.  On the System->Status page the Current Connections was 65536.  The maximum connections that this Sonicwall with this firmware can have when using GAV/IPS is 65536.

You can find out maximum connection information by navigating to System->Diagnostics.  In the Tech Support Report section check all four boxes and click Download Report.  Save the report to desktop.  Open report and search for “Max Connections when using GAV/IPS”.  Compare that number with the number Status page.

When the maximum connections have been made, the logs should have an entry stating:

The cache is full; 65536 open connection; some will be dropped.

The above was listed for me on the Status page in the Latest Alerts section.

Friday, August 28, 2009

Can’t Access Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES) Admin Console Fix

IE can't display page

Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES) 5.0 installs and links to Java 1.5.0_15.  If you update to the latest version of Java and remove Java 1.5.0_15 then the admin console will not work.  In Internet Explorer you will get an “Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage.

ServicesThatWontStart

If you check your Services, you may notices the following services stopped:
BlackBerry Administration Service - Application Server
BlackBerry Administration Service - Native Code Container

If you attempt to start or restart the service you get a message "BlackBerry Administration Service - Application Server service on Local Computer started and then stopped.  Some services stop automatically if they have no work to do, for example, the Performance Logs and Alerts service." or
"BlackBerry Administration Service - Native Code Container service on Local Computer started and then stopped.  Some services stop automatically if they have no work to do, for example, the Performance Logs and Alerts service."

Checking Event View Application errors you may have:

Source: BAS-NCC Event: 4, 4096, 4097, 4098
The description for Event ID ( 4 ) in Source ( BAS-NCC ) cannot be found.
The description for Event ID ( 4096 ) in Source ( BAS-NCC ) cannot be found.
The description for Event ID ( 4097 ) in Source ( BAS-NCC ) cannot be found.
The description for Event ID ( 4098 ) in Source ( BAS-NCC ) cannot be found.

or

Source: BAS-AS Event: 4, 4096, 4097, 4098
The description for Event ID ( 4 ) in Source ( BAS-AS ) cannot be found.
The description for Event ID ( 4096 ) in Source ( BAS-AS ) cannot be found.
The description for Event ID ( 4097 ) in Source ( BAS-AS ) cannot be found.
The description for Event ID ( 4098 ) in Source ( BAS-AS ) cannot be found.

The fix is to update two registry entries point to the most current Java.  For my example my current version of Java is 1.6.0_07.  Change

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\BAS-AS\Parameters\JVM Library
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_15\bin\client\jvm.dll
to
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_07\bin\client\jvm.dll

and

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\BAS-NCC\Parameters\JVM Library
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_15\bin\client\jvm.dll
to
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_07\bin\client\jvm.dll

NOTE that you may also need to update:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\BAS-AS\Parameters\JVM Library
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\BAS-NCC\Parameters\JVM Library

Start/Restart Blackberry services if necessary after changes.

You can also re-install Java 1.5.0_15 by navigating to the extracted BES 5 folder
\BlackBerry Enterprise Server 5.0.0\tools\Java 2 Runtime Environment, SE v1.5.0_15.msi

More can be found on Blackberry KB14697

Thursday, August 20, 2009

ADP iPayStatements Not Viewable; Get Red X for PDF

ADP_Bad

ADP iPayStatments may not be viewable in Internet Explorer and you receive a red X instead of your statement in PDF form. In the above example, I am using XP sp3, Internet Explorer 8, and Acrobat 9. I have also come across this issue with Adobe Reader 9 regardless of patch version.

First, verify you have these two proper settings:

  1. In Adobe Acrobat/Reader, navigate to Edit->Preferences->Internet and verify that “Display PDF in browser” is checked.
  2. In Internet Explorer, navigate to Tools->Internet Options->Advanced tab and verify that “Do not save encrypted pages to disk” is not checked.

If you have the above settings and still have the problem the continue reading.

The root of the issue is that a previous versions of Adobe Reader/Acrobat did not fully remove all registry entries when it was uninstalled. Sites like ADP are calling some function of Adobe Reader/Acrobat but the registry entry is pointing to a previous version of Adobe Reader/Acrobat and therefore you get the red X.

ADP support was not much help. Their response was that XP sp3 and Adobe Reader/Acrobat 9 was not supported even though XP sp3 has been available since May 2008. Adobe Reader/Acrobat 9 has been available since July 2008. ADP support solution was downgrade Adobe Reader/Acrobat 9 to 8. This was not an acceptable solution for several reasons. Adobe Reader/Acrobat 9 is the current offering and has the most current security and Adobe recommends 9 over 8. Also, the client that I’m helping has a license for 9, not 8.

The fix is to delete the following folder in the registry:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]

for others they may have [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\6.0] or[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\7.0]

You can copy the following into a txt file and give change the extension from .txt to .reg. Double click the .bat file and it will automatically delete the folder for you.

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]

Here is an alternative fix that takes a little longer and may require restarts. You also have to have admin rights on the computer.

  1. Uninstall Adobe Reader/Acrobat 9
  2. Install Adobe Reader/Acrobat 8 without and patching.
  3. Uninstall Adobe Reader/Acrobat 8 and and install Adobe Reader/Acrobat and then patch. Adobe Reader for Windows updates. Adobe Acrobat for Windows updates.

Here is the big .reg file I used to remove all previous versions of Adobe Acrobat and Adobe Reader prior to version 9:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

# Adobe 6 Removal
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Distiller\6.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Elements\6.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\6.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\6.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Reader\6.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Synchronizer\6.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Distiller\6.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Elements\6.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\6.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\6.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Repair\Adobe Reader\6.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Repair\Adobe Acrobat\6.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\6.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\6.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\6.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\6.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\6.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1547161642-2077806209-682003330-1219\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\6.0]

# Adobe 7 Removal
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Distiller\7.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Elements\7.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\7.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\7.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Reader\7.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Synchronizer\7.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Distiller\7.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Elements\7.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\7.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\7.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Repair\Adobe Reader\7.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Repair\Adobe Acrobat\7.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe Systems\Common Install\Shared Service\B2E57000]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Features\68AB67CA3301B7447A50000000000020]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\68AB67CA3301B7447A50000000000020]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\7.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\7.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\7.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\7.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\7.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1547161642-2077806209-682003330-1219\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\7.0]

# Adobe 8 Removal
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Distiller\8.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Elements\8.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\8.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\Adobe Synchronizer\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Distiller\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Elements\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Repair\Adobe Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Repair\Adobe Acrobat\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\S-1-5-18\Products\68AB67CA7DA73301B7448A0000000020]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{AC76BA86-7AD7-1033-7B44-A80000000002}]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Installer\Products\68AB67CA7DA73301B7448A0000000020]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Installer\Features\68AB67CA7DA73301B7448A0000000020]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Low Rights\ElevationPolicy\{358E6F10-DE8A-4602-8424-179CA217F8EE}]
[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Low Rights\ElevationPolicy\{9C6A861C-B233-4994-AFB1-C158EE4FC578}]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\8.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\8.0]
[HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\ShellNoRoam\MUICache]
"C:\\WINDOWS\\TEMP\\Adobe Reader 8\\setup.exe"=-
[HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\Windows\ShellNoRoam\MUICache]
"C:\\WINDOWS\\TEMP\\Adobe Reader 8\\setup.exe"=-
[-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1547161642-2077806209-682003330-1219\Software\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat\8.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Backup\Preferences\brr1\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Backup\Preferences\brr2\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]
[-HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Adobe\Backup\Preferences\brr3\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\8.0]

The fix to the issue was discovered using Active Registry Monitor and these:

UPDATE 8/21/2009

I just read this Adobe KB article. Even though I got mine working from doing the above, you can try these additional steps:

In the registry delete the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AcroExch.Document and HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AcroExch.Document.7.

When I launched Acrobat it launched the installer and repaired the registry keys and prompted to restart the computer. If you still have problems perform a repair by going to Add Remove Programs and highlighting Adobe Acrobat/Reader and clicking Change/Repair.

Monday, July 20, 2009

How To Backup Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

How To Backup Blackberry Enterprise Server (BES)

Know your BES database name by navigating to
Start->Programs->BlackBerry Enterprise Server->BlackBerry Server Configuration
Make note of the database on the Database Connectivity.

On the BES, navigate to Start->Run
Type CMD

In the command window type
osql –E
backup database to disk = “\.bak”
Example:
backup database besmgmt to disk = “C:\BESDbackup\backup.bak”

Type go

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

How to Remove "Sent from my BlackBerry"

From http://forums.crackberry.com/f3/how-remove-sent-my-blackberry-4980/

Step 1

Login to you BIS site depending on your carrier. The most popular carriers are listed below.
Verizon
Alltel
AT&T
Nextel / Sprint
Rogers
Telus
T-Mobile (U.K)
T-Mobile (U.S)
Other Carriers are listed here

Step 2

Click edit next to the email account you want to remove the signature from.

Step 3

In the field titled "Signature" erase all the text for no signature or edit it to display something in place of "Sent from my BlackBerry."

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

How do I assign a customized default user profile on Windows XP?

6775 » How do I assign a customized default user profile on Windows XP?
When a new user logs on, they are assigned a default user profile. The default profile is located in the C:\Documents and Settings\Default User folder.
To create a customized default user profile:
01. Log on to the computer as the administrator and create a local user account.
02. Log off the administrator account and log on as the newly created account.
03. Customize the profile. Install printers, map drives, make explorer and Internet Explorer settings, etc...
04. Log off and log on as administrator.
05. Make sure that Show Hidden files and Folders option on the Folder Options / View / Advanced Settings menu is enabled.
06. Open Control Panel and double-click System.
07. Select the Advanced tab.
08. Under User Profiles, press Settings.
09. In the User Profiles dialog box, select the user profile that you created and then press Copy To.
10. In the Copy To dialog, in the Copy profile to area, press Browse.
11. Select the C:\Documents and Settings\Default User folder and press OK.
12. In the Permitted to use area , press Change.
13. Press Everyone and OK.
NOTE: If Everyone is not available, press Advanced / Find Now / Everyone / OK.
When a new user logs on, Windows XP will assign the customize default user profile.

Friday, January 23, 2009

CMD does not support UNC paths as current directories

In a command console, here is how you change directories (cd) to an unmapped network path.

Use pushd instead of cd to change the current directory to a share accessed via a UNC path (e.g.: >pushd \\myserver\myshare).

When done, use popd to get back to prompt.

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

How to Disable Avira AntiVir Popup Ad

Windows XP Pro & Vista Business/Ultimate/Enterprise

  1. Start-> Control Panel
  2. Administrative tools-> Local security policy
  3. Click on Software Restriction Policy-> Action (at the top)-> create new restriction policies
  4. Right-click additional rules (on the right side)-> new path rule
  5. Path = C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avnotify.exe
  6. Set the security level to Disallowed-> apply-> ok

Windows 2000/XP HOME: (2000 & XP Pro do not require you to boot into safe mode)

  1. Boot into Safe Mode
  2. Log in using the Administrator account
  3. Go to C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avnotify.exe
  4. Right-click avnotify.exe-> properties-> security-> advanced
  5. Under the Permissions tab click on SYSTEM under Permission entries:
  6. Edit-> Traverse Folder / Execute File-> deny-> ok ->apply-> yes -> ok-> ok
  7. Reboot the computer into Normal Mode (start-> shutdown-> restart)

Windows Vista Home Premium

  1. Go to C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avnotify.exe
  2. Right-click avnotify.exe-> properties-> security->
  3. Under the group or username SYSTEM click edit
  4. Put a checkmark under the DENY column for "read and execute"

Windows 2000:

  1. Click Start, and then click Run
  2. In the Open box, type gpedit.msc, and then click OK
  3. Expand User Configuration, expand Administrative Templates, and then expand System
  4. In the right pane, double-click Don't run specified Windows applications
  5. Click Enabled, and then click Show
  6. Click Add, and then type the executable file name of the program (avnotify.exe) that you want to restrict users from running.
  7. Click OK, click OK, and then click OK (NOTE: If domain-level policy settings are defined, they may override this local policy setting.)
  8. Quit Group Policy Object Editor
  9. Restart the computer


Disable the splash screen

  1. Open regedit and navigate to [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
  2. In the right pane double-click avgnt and add /nosplash at the end of the path (ex. /min /nosplash)
  • If the Windows XP method doesn't work, try the one for Windows 2000.
  • Before giving up, try setting a restriction on avnotify.dll as well.
  • Tuesday, January 06, 2009