Pages

Tuesday, February 07, 2012

Hard Reset - Galaxy Nexus by Samsung

Hard Reset - Galaxy Nexus by Samsung

Warning Performing a hard reset will remove ALL data including the Google account, system data, application data, application settings, and downloaded applications. Only perform this reset if absolutely necessary.

Warning Pictures, Videos and Music will also be removed. It is recommended to backup this data unless willing to lose it.

Note Personal data such as WiFi passwords, Browser bookmarks, User dictionary, a list of installed Market applications and other customized settings can be backed up to and restored from Google's servers.

Preferred method
Alternate method

Preferred method

  1. From the home screen, select Apps.
    Home screen with Apps
  2. From the APPS tab, select Settings.
    Apps with Settings
  3. From the PERSONAL section, select Backup & reset.
    Settings with Backup & reset
  4. From the PERSONAL DATA section, select Factory data reset.
    Backup & reset with Factory data reset
  5. Select Reset phone.
    Note If presented, enter the current passcode or draw the unlock pattern.
    Reset phone
  6. Select Erase everything.
    Note Allow several minutes for the factory data reset and reboot processes to complete.
    Erase everything
  7. Refer to Initial Activation and Setup.

Top

Alternate method

  1. Press and hold the Power button.
    Power button
  2. Select Power off.
    Phone Options with Power off
  3. Select OK.
    Power off with OK
  4. Press and hold the Volume keys+Power button simultaneously until bootloader mode (image of an Android with Start) appears then release.
    Volume keys and Power button
  5. Select Recovery mode.
    Note Utilize the volume keys to cycle through the available options and the Power button to select.
    Note The device will restart in Recovery mode.
    Bootloader screen with Recovery mode
  6. From the Recovery mode screen, press and hold the Power button then press the Volume up (+) key.
    Recovery mode screen
  7. Select wipe data/factory reset.
    Recovery mode screen with wipe data/factory reset
  8. Select Yes -- delete all user data.
    Note Allow several minutes for the factory data reset process to complete.
    Recovery mode screen with Yes -- delete all user data
  9. Select reboot system now.
    Note Allow several minutes for the reboot process to complete.
    Recovery mode screen with reboot system now
  10. Refer to Initial Activation and Setup.

No comments: